At Least 25 Republicans Plan to Challenge Electoral College Vote

Ahead of next month’s joint session of Congress, at least 24 representatives and representatives-elect and one Senator intend to challenge President-elect Joe Biden’s 306-232 victory in the electoral college.

Leading the charge in the Senate, the lone Senator Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) said on Wednesday that “You’ve got 74 million Americans who feel disenfranchised, who feel like their vote doesn’t matter. And this is the one opportunity that I have as a United States senator, this process right here, my one opportunity to stand up and say something, and that’s exactly what I’m going to do.” 

By law, any member of the House can object to the results of the electoral college, so long as they are joined by a Senator. Both chambers will then have a two-hour debate and then vote on upholding the challenge, which requires a simple majority in each chamber to succeed. 

Rep.-elect Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.) announced the group intends to file objections against six swing states, including Georgia, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Michigan, Arizona, and Nevada.

“In my judgment, based on what I have seen so far and my own personal experience with voter fraud and election theft by Democrats, in my judgment, if you only could count lawfully cast votes by American citizens, Donald Trump won the Electoral College,” Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), the first Republican to announce plans to file an objection, explained.

Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-Illinois) expects “upwards of 100” Republicans could join the objection efforts on Wednesday’s episode of The Bulwark Podcast. A small group, Sens. Kelly Loeffler (R-Ga.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), and Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), have indicated they may object. 

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) discouraged objection attempts during a private caucus call, believing objections would divide Republicans and make it appear as if some Republicans stood against President Donald Trump.  Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) said McConnell faced no resistance during the call. 

“There wasn’t any pushback to it,” she said. “There’s wasn’t anyone saying: oh wait a minute. That didn’t occur.”

No Democrats plan to object to the results.

The full list of Republicans who currently plan to object to the vote is below. 

Sen. Josh Hawley (R-Mo.)

Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.)

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-Fla.)

Rep. Jody Hice (R-Ga.)

Rep. Brian Babin (R-Texas)

Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Texas)

Rep. Ted Budd (R-N.C.)

Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.)

Rep. Lance Gooden (R-Texas)

Rep. Jeff Van Drew (R-N.J.)

Rep. Mark Green (R-Tenn.)

Rep. Ralph Norman (R-S.C.)

Rep. Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.)

Rep. Scott Perry (R-Pa.)

Rep.-elect Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.)

Rep.-elect Madison Cawthorn (R-N.C.)

Rep.-elect Barry Moore (R-Ala.)

Rep.-elect Bob Good (R-Va.)

Rep.-elect Lauren Boebert (R-Colo.)

Rep.-elect Ronny Jackson (R-Texas)

Rep.-elect Burgess Owens (R-Utah)

Rep.-elect Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.)

Rep.-elect Jerry Carl (R-Ala.)

Rep.-elect Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.)

Rep.-elect Diana Harshbarger (R-Tenn.)

Leave a Reply